Paula Crider, May 2013


Robert Vezzetti, May 2011


Kenneth Snoeck, May 2008


Joseph Lamond, July 2012


Greg Bimm, May 2012


Qian Ni, July 2009


Remo Belli, July 2007


Duffie Adelson, May 2007


Ted Lega, May 2006


John Whitwell, May 2013



Morton Manus, July 2008


Richard Young, July 2016


Keith Mardak, July 2005


Vic Firth, July 2010


Edward Harris & Michael Harris, July 2011


Ray Cramer, May 2010


Cheryl Lavender, May 2016


James & John D'Addario, July 2015


Michael Balter, July 2014


Richard Crain, May 2017


James T. Rohner, July 2013

The honorary Doctor of Music (D. Mus.) is the highest honor awarded by VanderCook College of Music. It is presented to noteworthy individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of music education as evidenced by their scholarly or creative achievements, outstanding service and leadership.

July 2019
Richard W. Colburn
May 2019
Charles "Chip" Staley
July 2018
Maurice Stanley Backun
May 2018
Frank J. Lestina
Donald Wayne Shupe
July 2017
Irwin E. Berg
May 2017
Richard Charles Crain
July 2016
Richard D. Young
May 2016
Cheryl Ann Lavender
July 2015
James D’Addario
John D’Addario Jr.
July 2014
Michael H. Balter
May 2014
Freddy William Martin
July 2013
James T. Rohner
May 2013
Paula A. Crider
John L. Whitwell
July 2012
Joseph M. Lamond
May 2012
Gregory Lawrence Bimm
July 2011
Edward J. Harris
Michael L. Harris
May 2011
Robert B. Vezzetti
July 2010
Everett J. “Vic” Firth
May 2010
Ray E. Cramer
July 2009
Qian Ni
May 2009 
Himie Voxman
David A. Wells
July 2008
Morton L. Manus
May 2008
Kenneth M. Snoeck
July 2007
Remo D. Belli
May 2007
Duffie A. Adelson
May 2006
Ted Lega
July 2005
Keith Mardak
July 2004
Leo C. Harris
July 2001
Betty Jones Bertaux
May 2000
Duane E. Johnson
July 1999
Leo J. Henning
George A. Quinlan Sr.
July 1996
Barbara Dianne Buehlman
July 1995
Tim Lautzenheiser
May 1995
K. Ethel Merker
July 1994
Michael J. Davis
May 1994
Wilbur D. Elliott
July 1993
William R. Coyle
July 1992
Richard Davis
Guy F. Foreman
Lewis A. Schmidt
May 1992
Melvin L. Shelton
July 1991
Harris Bergh
Neil Dunlap
July 1990
Forrest Buchtel Sr.
Merle J. Isaac
Clifford Lillya
William Revelli
Victor W. Zajec
July 1988
Richard E. Brittain
Albert Richard Casavant
July 1987
Ruth E. Artman
Richard S. Peck
July 1986
Haskell E. Harr
Arnold Jacobs
Vaclav Nelhybel

VanderCook College of Music - (312) 225-6288