Share Your Passion


Honorary Doctorates

The honorary Doctor of Music (D. Mus.) is the highest honor awarded by VanderCook College of Music. It is presented to noteworthy individuals who have made significant contributions to the field of music education as evidenced by their scholarly or creative achievements, outstanding service and leadership.


Richard Young - July 2016



Cheryl Lavender  May 2016

James & John D'Addario  July 2015



Michael Balter  July 2014


James T. Rohner July 2013


Paula Crider May 2013


John Whitwell May 2013



Joseph Lamond July 2012


Greg Bimm May 2012


Edward Harris & Michael Harris July 2011


Robert Vezzetti May 2011


Vic Firth July 2010


Kenneth Snoeck May 2008


Ray Cramer May 2010



Qian Ni July 2009


Morty Manus July 2008


Remo Belli July 2007


Duffie Adelson May 2007


Ted Lega May 2006


Keith Mardak July 2005

July 2016
Richard Young
July 1999
George A. Quinlan, Sr.
May 2016
Cheryl Lavender
July 1999
Leo J. Henning
July 2015
James D'Addario
John D'Addario
July 1996
Barbara D. Buehlman
July 2014
Michael Balter
July 1995
Tim N. Lautzenheiser
May 2014
Freddy Martin
May 1995
Ethel Merker
July 2013
James Rohner
July 1994
Michael J. Davis
May 2013
Paula Crider
John Whitwell
May 1994
Wilber D. Elliott
July 2012
Joseph M. Lamond
July 1993
William R. Coyle
May 2012
Gregory L. Bimm
May 1992
Melvin L. Shelton
July 2011
Michael L. Harris
July 1992
Lewis A. Schmidt
July 2011
Edward J. Harris
July 1992
Guy F. Foreman
May 2011
Robert B. Vezzetti
July 1992
Richard Davis
July 2010
Everett “Vic” Firth
July 1991
Neil Dunlap
May 2010
Ray E. Cramer
July 1991 
Harris Bergh
July 2009
Qian Ni
July 1990
Merle J. Isaac
May 2009
Himie Voxman
July 1990
Victor Zajec
July 2008
Morton L. Manus
July 1990
Clifford Lillya
May 2008
Kenneth M. Snoeck
July 1990
William D. Revelli  
July 2007
Remo D. Belli
July 1990
Forrest Buchtel, Sr
May 2007
Duffie A. Adelson
July 1988
Richard E. Brittain
May 2006
Ted Lega
July 1988
Albert Richard Casavant
July 2005
Keith R. Mardak
July 1987
Richard S. Peck
July 2004
Leo C. Harris
July 1986
Ruth E. Artman
July 2001
Betty J. Bertaux
July 1986
Vaclav Nelhybel
May 2000
Duane E. Johnson
July 1986
Haskell W. Harr



VanderCook College of Music

3140 South Federal Street
Chicago, IL 60616-3731
(312) 225-6288

Stay Connected

Powered by Website design and development by, Inc